Love is Love

LoveIsLove-Cv1

Liberty Leading the People. Unity Leading the People. Equality Leading the People.

Love Leading the People.

Love is Love

In December 2016 IDW Publishing, together with DC Entertainment, released this beautiful, beautiful anthology and benefit comic to support victims and families affected by the tragedy at Pulse Nightclub in Orlando on June 12th 2016.

Sales so far have raised over $165K, which have been donated to the OneOrlando Fund. The comic I bought is already the fifth edition and the money raised from this and future editions is going to LGBTQA+ charities.

Please visit IDW’s website for even more information about the comic, as well as the creators. I would like to name Marc Andreyko, who together with IDW’s Sarah Gaydos and DC Entertainment’s Jamie S. Rich, called out to artists across the globe to lend their talents to make this benefit comic possible.

Love is Love Batwoman Full

Usually I am reviewing a book at this point but how could I dissect this? This anthology is a tribute to the 49 victims of the shooting, their families and loved ones, as well as the LGBTQA+ community. The artists are as different as the stories they tell or the pictures they paint. Stories of pain and sadness and hate and shame and death, true stories, stories of inspiration and hope and kindness and strength and love. I cried reading this book. There are so many beautiful images, stories, sentiments, symbols and works of art, sometimes all it took to make me tear up was a word or one panel. I was sad and proud and hurt and inspired. One of the most beautiful books I have ever read. What I took away from reading was that there might be a lot of hate directed at us but in the end love always wins.

LOVE WINS

I was immediately drawn in by the gorgeous cover! It conveys, shouts actually, a very powerful message. Liberty and – in my interpretation – Love are leading the people is a symbol of empowerment. We stand together as one, diverse as we may be. It’s also a symbol for the lack of acceptance in our society as we still have to fight to be treated equally. We will protest and fight them with love until we have what we want.

We want to be seen and treated as people.

love-is-love-page-by-mitch-gerads-and-tom-king

I am not too good of an artist but I still would like to contribute something to this wonderful anthology.Β  So that’s what I am going to to. I am going to tell you about a conversation I had with a co-worker of mine that really stuck with me. It was nothing, really but it meant the world to me.

I am a bookseller and was currently stacking a massive heap of books in boxes for delivery, making sure they were clean and have no dents or are otherwise damaged. As I was sitting between teetering towers of books I suddenly had to laugh and said: ‘I feel like Cinderella, picking out the ‘bad’ books and putting the ‘good’ ones into boxes.’

My co-worker laughed as well and said: ‘True, but think about it. At least you get to marry the princess in the end.’

She knew I was a lesbian and changed the prince into a princess without even thinking. I could tell. There was no pause before ‘princess’; to her it was the normal and logical word to use. I am very lucky and grateful that I am accepted by my family and my friends just the way I am. I want that kind of unquestioned acceptance for everyone by anyone!

LoveIsLove3-1491036599-632x942

I would like to conclude this review with a beautiful sonnet by Lin-Manuel Miranda, creator of ‘Hamilton’. It was his Acceptance Speech at the Tony Awards on June 12th 2016, where ‘Hamilton’ won Best Original Score. Video

My wife’s the reason anything gets done. She nudges me towards promise by degrees.

She is a perfect symphony of one.

Our son is her most beautiful reprise.

We chase the melodies that seem to find us

Until they’re finished songs and start to play.

When senseless acts of tragedy remind us

That nothing here is promised, not one day

This show is proof that history remembers

We live through times when hate and fear seem stronger

We rise and fall and light from dying embers,

Remembrances that hope and love last longer.

And love is love is love is love is love is love is love is love, cannot be killed or swept aside.

I sing Vanessa’s symphony, Eliza tells her story.

Now fill the world with music, love, and pride.

Leave a Reply

